Skip to content

The Jackass Who Stole My Honda Odyssey is Lucky I Have Perspective.

2009/07/03

Last night, as I laid in bed thinking about the letter I just wrote to the thief who stole my van, I tried hard to put it all into some kind of perspective.

The fact of the matter is that he didn’t steal from me, he stole from my family and I am helpless.  While I am seven thousand miles away, the police came to our house, did there report, and my wife has been making the endless line of phone calls that comes with auto theft.  (And no, it wasn’t repossessed!)  But, nonetheless, I feel helpless.  I feel like I can’t protect my family.

After a person steals something valuable from your family, you feel violated, angry, sad, frustrated, stressed, hurt and any number of other emotions as you deal with the situation.  To add insult to injury, that person will be somehow entwined in your life forever.  Just when you have forgotten about your possession being ripped away from you, someone will tell you a story about something they had stolen from them many years ago.  Then, without warning, your own memories and emotions of the heinous event that you were victimized by will come back to haunt you.

I bet, as you read this right now, you are thinking of something that someone stole from you.  In five years from now it will happen to me at a some social gathering somewhere, and I will have to one up the storyteller by saying, “Oh yea, well when I was in Iraq, some asshole stole my Honda Odyssey.  We loved that thing!  My wife had to put the baby in the center console, put the teenager on the roof, and stack the rest of the kids like cordwood in the back seat of my Ford Focus.  And that was just to go to the mailbox!”

LTC Karcher and Family

LTC Karcher and Family

Really, it could have been worse.  My wife could have been car-jacked with the kids in the back seat. (Although our teenage daughter has been acting up, so maybe that wouldn’t have been such a bad thing.)

We had insurance and we’re not broke, so that’s good.   After insurance pays off the lien, there will be some money left over, so maybe we could buy an older, cheaper van, that won’t be a total piece of junk.  (I refuse to take on another car payment so close to retiring from the Army.)

The family of LTC Timothy Karcher and the soldiers of 2/5 CAV are having a worse day than I am.  They lost a soldier the other day, others were wounded, and LTC Karcher is fighting for his life. 

Don’t get me wrong, I am still pissed off and would love to kick the crap out of the guy who did this to my family.

But it’s all been put into perspective.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen Kelly-Beaulieu permalink
    2009/07/21 19:03

    Jim,
    I found your link off of my Brother’s Facebook page. Thank you and your family for what you are doing for all of us. When my husband was deployed and I was having an awful day, for whatever reason, I would remind myself of all of my blessings. However small they might have felt, they were always plentiful. Keep up your positive perspective-it is truly the only thing that you have control over. And if they find the jacka** who stole your familymobile I will happily help your wife beat him to a bloody pulp!

  2. 2009/07/03 06:31

    You did it again, another eye opener. I really never thought of how things like this really do affect the rest of our lives, but you are so right. Thanks for sharing your perspective!

  3. Vickie permalink
    2009/07/03 01:07

    Don’t give up hope on your van finding its way back home…it’s happened before, can happen again! (By the way, loved the milk carton on the last blog)

Leave a Reply

